Newfield Primary School

  • Translate
  • Search


EYFS Intent


At Newfield, we believe that a robust and successful early education prepares pupils for their future success. Developing oracy and supporting pupils to engage in quality talk is a priority as is the promotion of early reading. We aim to support children to become confident, independent, creative learners whilst encouraging awe and wonder for the world around them.


It is our aim for the children to develop a broad range of knowledge and skills through a stimulating and ambitious curriculum and to reach their full potential. The children are given rich opportunities to develop in all the areas learning, with great emphasis placed on developing the characteristics of effective learning through play.


We are passionate about creating fun and engaging learning opportunities that develop the children’s language and communication skills, as well as responding to children’s interests and personalising their learning according to their development. This is done through differentiation, challenge and extension within the EYFS unit.


The EYFS Curriculum is coherently structured and sequenced and has links to the planning of the Curriculum in KS1 and 2.


We intend:

  • To develop independent learners who can investigate, explore, question & work as part of a team
  • To create a stimulating, language rich indoor and outdoor environment that supports pupils’ learning. 
  • To work in partnership with parents and carers to encourage independent and happy learners who thrive in school.
  • To understand and follow children’s interest as well as provide opportunities through topics and themes centred around stories.
  • To support transitions into Year 1 at the end of the Early Years in Reception.


7 Areas of Learning and Development


In Nursery and Reception there are 7 areas of learning and development that informs the educational provision. We value all areas of learning and development equally and understand that they are interconnected.


The 3 prime areas are:

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development.


These prime areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.


Children are also supported in 4 specific areas, through which the 3 prime areas are strengthened and applied. These are:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design. 


EYFS Framework

EYFS at Newfield