Newfield Primary School

  • Translate
  • Search

Religious Education

At Newfield Primary School we follow the Brent Agreed Syllabus for Religious Education. The Agreed Syllabus is organised into guidance for the Foundation Stage (age
3-5) and programmes of study for each of the subsequent key stages ( Key
Stage 1: age 5-7, Key Stage 2: age 7-11).


The programmes of study have been designed to follow the framework of National Curriculum subjects. They clarify the types of knowledge, understanding, skills, attitudes and processes which inform religious education in Brent. They describe continuity and progression through the key stages.


The aim of religious education is to learn about and from spiritual insights,
beliefs and religious practices and to explore fundamental questions of
human life.

This will include helping children and young people to:


  • Understand and respect different theistic and non-theistic religious traditions

        as well as other ethical traditions (such as Humanism) by exploring issues
        within and between them


  • Develop knowledge and understanding of beliefs, values, traditions and religious institutions and their influence on the life of the believer and on communities and societies


  • Look for and learn from the wisdom contained in the stories, sayings and customs of religious and ethical traditions


  • Understand how meaning is conveyed through religious texts, ritual, symbolism, and the arts


  • Recognise the integrity of truth claims, value the search for truth and manage conflicts which may arise from differing views


  • Develop the ability to make reasoned and informed choices concerning belief and behaviour


  • Enhance and reflect on their own spiritual, moral, emotional and cultural development


  • Develop a positive self image through reflecting on their own beliefs and home traditions while respecting the right of others to hold beliefs different to theirs